Background to the event

Institute of Certified Management Accountants (Australia) has established a Global Accounting Hall of Fame® and a Global Management Accounting Hall of Fame® to ensure that accounting academics and practitioners globally were given the recognition they deserve.

While selection to the Hall of Fame is intended to honour the people so chosen, it is also intended to be a recognition of distinguished service contributions to the progress of accounting and management accounting. Evidence of such service includes contributions to accounting research and literature, significant service to professional accounting organizations, wide recognition as an authority in the fields of financial accounting, management accounting and auditing; advancement of accounting education, and public service.

The Accounting Hall of Fame

The Accounting Hall of Fame® is a general award open to all accountants, CFOs etc., Financial and Managerial. Therefore, those who have made a significant contribution to the following field of accounting, both in the profession and academia will be eligible to be nominated for the award: (a) Financial Accounting; (b) Managerial Accounting; (e) Cost Management; (f) External Auditing; (g) Internal Auditing; (h) Tax Accounting; (i) Accounting Systems; (j) Fiduciary Accounting; (k) Forensic Accounting; and (l) Corporate Governance.

The Management Accounting Hall of Fame

The Management Accounting Hall of Fame ® is an award open only to managerial accountants, CFOs, Strategy Analysts etc. (i.e. those NOT DOING compliance work).  Therefore, those who have made a significant contribution to the following field of management accounting, both in the profession and academia will be eligible to be nominated for the award: (a) Managerial Accounting; (b) Cost Accounting; (c) Management Control Systems; (d) Lean Accounting; (e) Corporate Finance; (f) Project Management; (g) Benchmarking; (h) Valuation; (i) Environmental and Social Accounting; (j) Risk Management; (k) Strategic Governance; (l) Big Data Analytics and (l) Carbon Accounting.

The Nomination Committee – Sri Lanka

The Selection Committee was comprised of the founder members of ICMA: Mr Willian Dix, AO, Former Chairman of Ford Australia and Qantas; Professor John Miller, AO, Former President of the Confederation of Asian and Pacific Accountants (CAPA); Emeritus Fellow, Dr. Leon Duval, Founder President of ICMA and Professor Janek Ratnatunga; Former Chair of Business Accounting, Monash University; and CEO of ICMA Australia. The Sri Lankan representative in the Selection Committee was Mr Asite Talwatte, the former Chief Partner of Ernst & Young, and a long-standing Fellow of ICMA (Australia).

Recipients of the awards – Sri Lanka (Citations to Follow)

The four inaugural inductees for Sri Lanka have reached a position of eminence in which the nature of their contributions have been judged by their peers in the Region to be an outstanding lifetime of achievement.

Accounting Hall of Fame (in alphabetical order)


  1. Mr. Rajan Asirwatham, who was the Senior Partner and Country Head of KPMG Sri Lanka – formerly Ford Rhodes Thornton & Co – for well over four decades, from 1961 to 2008.


  1. Mr. James Mather was the Senior Partner of Ernst and Young from 1970 to 2001 playing a monumental role in the way Ernst & Young developed.


Management Accounting Hall of Fame (in alphabetical order)


  • Prof M. T. A. Furkhan, who was one of prime movers in establishing in 1965, the basic roots of the management accountancy profession in Sri Lanka, when he brought the Institute of Cost and Works Accountants (now CIMA) to Sri Lanka.


  1. Prof M. W. Wickramarachchi is a path breaker in academic accounting education in Sri Lanka. He was the founder of Department of Commerce at University of Kelaniya and Department of Accountancy and Financial Management at University of Sri Jayewardenepura.


Distinguished recipients in other countries

Some of the most prominent personalities who have received the award are:

Australia: Mr. John Stanhope; Chancellor of Deakin University and Chairman of Australia Post who was previously Chief Financial Officer (CFO) and Group Managing Director (Finance) of Telstra;

Indonesia: Dr. Mohammad Nasir, the Minister of Higher Education, Research and Technology and formerly Rector of the University of Diponegoro (UNDIP);

Cambodia: Mr. In Channy, the President and Group Managing Director of ACLEDA Bank Plc., Cambodia’s largest commercial bank;

Philippines: Dr. Joselito Diga, the CFO of United Laboratories, Inc. and the former Vice President for Finance and Country Controller of Pilipinas Shell.


Awarding ceremony – Sri Lanka

An VIP dinner will be held at the JAIC Hilton, Colombo, on the 2nd of November 2017, starting at 6.30 pm.

  1. Chief Guest of the event – Dr Indrajit Coomaraswamy, the Governor of Central Bank.
  2. Special Guest of Honour – His Excellency Bryce Hutchesson, the High Commissionaire for Australia in Sri Lanka.
  • Professor Janek Ratnatunga – CEO of ICMA Australia and Former Chair of Business Accounting, Monash University.
  1. Professor Brendan O’Connell – Global President of CMA Australia and Professor of Accounting at RMIT University.

More than 150 participants including distinguished invitees from corporate sector and academia (from Sri Lanka and Australia) and members of ICMA Australia will be participating at the event.