Increasing Trade and Investment with Sri Lanka a Priority – Norwegian Envoy

The promotion of business cooperation between the Nordics and Sri Lanka remains an important and relevant priority, Ambassador of Norway to Sri Lanka Her Excellency Trine Jøranli Eskedal emphasised, at the recent Annual General Meeting of the Sri Lanka NORDIC Business Council (SLNBC) of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce.

Strategic partnerships and investments in areas such as clean and sustainable energy, ICT and shipping will also help Sri Lanka to emerge from the current economic crisis and more forward, she said, adding that SLNBC continues to act as a vital link facilitating opportunities for coorporation in terms of trade, investment and private sector led growth between Sri Lanka and NORDIC partner countries.

Referring to recent positive developments related to addressing the economic crisis, Outgoing President of the Council Mr. Prasath Mahalingam said the Council would continue to work to create opportunities for trade and investment between Sri Lanka and the Nordics, including organizing more events such as a recent knowledge sharing session between SLNBC Member organisations and Sri Lankan ICT companies on overcoming entry barriers to the Norwegian market.

Mr. Jehan Perinpanayagam of Infomate (Pvt) Ltd was elected as President of Sri Lanka–NORDIC Business Council (SLNBC) at the 21st Annual General Meeting.

SLNBC was inaugurated in 2001 to promote trade, tourism, investment and services between Sri Lanka and the partnering countries and the council continues to act as the vital link between the countries, to develop new initiatives and areas or corporation in terms of trade, tourism and investment. The SLNBC membership compromise a wide spectrum of companies engaged in infrastructure, logistics and services, financial services, tourism and leisure, import and export trading, manufacturing, ICT and telecommunication.

Executive Council Members elected for the year 2022/2023 are as follows:

Mr. Anthony Ousman- John Keells IT – Vice President, Mr. Kapila Abeywardane – Aitken Spence Travels, Ms. Bobby Jordan Hansen – Columbus Tours (Pvt) Ltd, Mr. Andre Fernando – MAC Holdings (Pvt) Ltd, Ms. Maleena Awn – Meridian Maritime Services Ltd, Mr. Shaameel Mohideen – Spillburg Holdings (Pvt) Ltd, and Mr. Kavinda Rajapaksa – Samson Rubber Industries (Pvt) Ltd. Mr. Prasath Mahalingam of 99X Technology joined the council in his capacity as the Immediate Past President.