Sri Lanka Export Development Board (EDB) is organizing the 24th Presidential Export Awards Ceremony on 26th
November 2021 at the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall (BMICH) under the patronage of
His Excellency the President of Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka.
The Presidential Export Awards (PEA) initiated by the EDB in 1981, is the most prestigious award for exporters
in Sri Lanka and is presented to the exporters who have made a significant contribution to Sri Lanka’s exports.
This year’s ceremony recognizes and salutes the exporters for their excellence in the 2019/20 and 2020/21
financial years, symbolizing the national recognition of exporters, particularly in non-traditional products and
services. In total, 63 export companies will be awarded during the ceremony for two financial years with 12
Overall Awards and 46 Sectoral Awards for products & services. The selections for the awards were done by an
eminent Panel of Judges headed by a Retired Judge of the Supreme Court.
Presidential Export Awards Ceremony this year recognizes and appreciates the resilience, perseverance and
commitment shown by the exporters amidst a number of challenges due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and their
contribution towards achieving the goal of the Governments Policy Framework: “Vistas of Prosperity and
New overall awards such as “Best Exporter in Product Diversification”, “Best Value-Added Exporter of the
Year”, “Market Diversified Exporter of the Year”, “Best Performing Exporter in Emerging Markets” and
“Emerging Exporter of the Year” are introduced to the Presidential Export Awards Scheme this year, in line with
the National Policy Framework.
Furthermore, the selection of the “Best Exporter” for the Product and Services Sectoral Awards was more
competitive as the evaluation was not only based on export earnings but also several other criteria, such as value
addition, employment creation, market diversification, and growth of export earnings.
The 24th PEA is organized by the EDB under the leadership of Hon. (Dr.) Bandula Gunawardana, Minister of
Trade and the guidance and directions of Mr. Suresh D de Mel, Chairman and Chief Executive, EDB